It’s Really Happening!

I was warned that if I didn’t enroll in a birthing class soon, the closest open class would begin several months post-birth. Then I found out that I couldn’t take a birthing class unless I knew where I would be giving birth. Which was an issue, because I’ve been arguing with family about the location of the birth. I’m not going to lie, home birth has its appealing aspects to me, but frankly, two things ruled it out for me: 1) I have really terrible dogs who would bark constantly, and 2) the smell scares me a lot. The medical aspects didn’t scare me, because I assume that any midwife I’d choose would be able to tell if I or the baby needed a hospital. So I’ve been looking into non-hospital births because hospitals scare the heck out of me and I would really rather not be in a hospital if I can help it. Unfortunately, absolutely nobody supports a non-hospital birth in my life. The discussion that I planned to draw out until I got my way was, unfortunately, sped up and a decision had to be made this week. Argh. 

So, off to the hospitals we went (yes, I made Justin come, which astonished the nurse at Stormont). In the end, I think we decided on St. Francis. The nurse didn’t bat an eye when I asked if they supported non-epidural pain management such as walking around and she even talked about the different birthing positions I could use. Stormont also might have frightened me when they described attaching a tracking device to my baby’s umbilical cord so nobody could steal my baby. I’m not one of those people who wants to hear about that. I’m not even ready to talk about all of the terrible things that could happen during childbirth, so I definitely don’t want to talk about terrible things that could happen AFTER childbirth.

So, St. Francis it is! Suddenly this is very real. Very, very real. Justin was so cute asking questions of the nurses. I thought he was going to go so far as to form an opinion, but alas, his opinion was, “Whatever makes you happy, dear.” I swear, sometimes I think I took his training too far. 

The upper respiratory infection is gone, thank goodness. That z-pack was terrible. Poor Kingsley has recovered from when I accidentally gave him non-drowsy Benadryl instead of regular Benadryl. The poor guy was up absolutely all night and miserable. Justin called it my first official mommy fail. 

I’ve been starting my registries. Yes, multiple registries. Who can find everything they want at one store? As much as Justin complained that I was buying everything we need and would have nothing left for people to buy, I have to say, that did not happen. I can’t believe how many things I need! It’s also hard finding unisex items. Even though I plan on finding out if we’re having a boy or girl, I still want gender neutral items because I do plan on having multiple children and it’d be nice to not have to buy all new big-ticket items. Plus I have had a few friends who’ve been told they’re having a girl only to be surprised with a boy at delivery (a boy who, sadly, goes home in pink clothes in a pink car seat).

By themagnificentms

Leave a Reply

