Mitchell’s Guardian Angel

DSC_0005

 

After a particularly close call on the interstate (I will find you, DK county 085 DMO), I decided that it was time for Mitchell to meet his guardian angel, Aunt Kelsey.

While I am not a particularly religious person, I will adamantly maintain until my dying day that we have a guardian angel. The belief that Kelsey is out there, somewhere, continuing, is all that keeps me going. To think that one stupid, senseless accident could have wiped a force that strong from this Earth for good would just destroy my hope for humanity.

And Kelsey will be a great guardian angel for Mitchell. For me, I’m sure she’s intentionally thrown some obstacles my way just for giggles. But for Mitchell, or any other nieces and nephews, she will be great. Kelsey loved children, and she was amazing with them. Somehow children just gravitated toward her. I have no doubt that, had that one day turned out differently, in the last couple months I would have had to physically throw Kelsey from my house so I could have my baby back.

Kelsey has been gone 5 years now, and I’m just now allowing myself to accept it. I’m trying to accept the fact that Mitchell will only know her as Aunt Kelsey, his guardian angel. But at least I can sleep a little better at night knowing that Kelsey is watching over my Mitchell. And I know to take every opportunity to give him a hug, kiss him, play with him, and tell him I love him, because you never know when this day will be your last. I will never allow my last words to him to be anything other than “I love you.”

By themagnificentms

Leave a Reply

