One of These Days…

One of these days, I’m not going to have to vacuum the house every other day or scrub the walls to get rid of dog hair and slobber. One of these days, I won’t have to follow the rule of putting at least one thing away every time I walk through the house. One of these days, my house will be so big that there will be room for all of us and our dogs and our toys and we will still have room to move around. One of these days, Justin and I will have the bed all to ourselves and Mitchell will sleep the whole night through. One of these days, Mitchell won’t have a complete nervous breakdown when he sees me leave the room. Mitchell won’t steal dishes out of the dishwasher or cabinets. One of these days, the first three shelves in the house will once again be my chachkies and not just overflow baby toys. Justin and I will be able to watch an entire TV show without having to pause until we can hear the TV again over the five different musical baby toys that Mitchell has turned on. One of these days, Mitchell will be able to tell me he’s seen the Goldfish bag and he desperately NEEDS a Goldfish fix instead of being reduced to a screaming mess on the floor.

BUT.

One of these days, I’m not going to have two giant dogs lumbering around my house to hug and love and, especially, for Mitchell to hug and love. One of these days, Mitchell will keep all his toys in his room because he prefers being in there to the company of his mom and dad. One of these days, I’m not going to live in this cute little house that Justin and I have made our first home, complete with all its quirks (like the lack of closets). One of these days, the first thing I see in the morning won’t be either a sleeping, cuddling baby or a giant baby smile. One of these days, Mitchell will WANT me to leave the room and will have a complete nervous breakdown when I dare to stay in the room with him and his friends. One of these days, I’ll be left to cook and clean and empty the dishwasher all by myself. My chachkies will take over the house and I’ll have to dust them again. I honestly don’t know how I’ll concentrate on just one thing like a TV show again. One of these days, Mitchell will start talking and tell me exactly what he wants and he won’t stop. Even worse, I won’t be able to give him everything he wants. At some point, the boob (or at least MY boob) won’t fix everything.

One of these days, Mitchell is going to grow up. I’m sure we’re still going to be a close family, but he won’t DESPERATELY need me and depend on me for his happiness. He’ll have his own life and I’ll be lucky to be included in it. Justin and I will (gasp) have to depend on each other for our company again. Every day Mitchell discovers one more thing that he can do by himself (sometimes they’re even good things), and I have to stop myself from grabbing him and trying to keep him a baby. Justin is very eager to graduate and get a job, but if it were up to me, I’d hit the pause button in our lives right now. I live a very charmed life at this moment. I have a fabulous husband who can, if I really need him to, drop everything and come home for the day. He helps out around the house (even though I haven’t gotten through to him how to properly load the dishwasher). I get to spend all day every day with a (usually) happy little toddler who LOVES me. My classes are overwhelming at moments, but I really enjoy the subject matter. We’re close enough to our family that we get to see them frequently (but not too frequently…just kidding!). We have friends that we get to see all the time, and we rock volleyball every week. I will definitely have plenty of things to be thankful for this Thanksgiving.

The ever-doting father. His constant presence was such a relief for me.

By themagnificentms

2 comments on “One of These Days…

Leave a Reply

