A decade ago today.

A decade ago today, I met the man who would become my husband.

I have no idea how we found each other. There are so many “what ifs” in the early years of our relationship that it was just sheer luck that we met and were still together a year later. At the young age of 19, I met person who would stand by me through the worst moments of my life.

Neither Justin nor I could be described as upstanding individuals a decade ago. We weren’t delinquents or anything like that, but we were feckless and irresponsible. I could describe each and every one of our shortcomings, but suffice to say, we weren’t terrific.

Somehow, though, we evened each other out. We grew into adults together, and we learned to use each other for strength. I will always consider him my rock. No matter what the situation – and trust me, we’ve been through some doozies – he always stands strong. He’s the most logical person I’ve ever met. He can be in the middle of a heated argument and still have the capacity to say, “You know, I hadn’t thought of that. That’s a good point.” (That is not a capacity common in my family.) I’ve learned how to be a better person by watching him. I am so proud of the father he’s become. I know that Mitchell and I are extremely lucky to have him.

So here’s to embarrassing our children in another 10 years by telling sappy stories about how much we love each other.

I love you, babe.

By themagnificentms

Leave a Reply

