Baking with Mom

I would like to begin this post by admitting that I am TERRIBLE at baking. I can partially blame my oven, which takes about twice as long to cook something as the recipe says, but partially it’s just me being lazy. Accurately measure stuff? Psh. Whatev. A little of this, a little of that.

So anyway. Back to the point. Mitchell decided that today was not a good day for napping. So he didn’t. Like, at all. Apparently he’s decided that 18 month olds don’t nap. So instead, I made a cake. (And I just had a nice big piece of it and HOLY COW it’s pretty good. It has strawberries on it and is served with more strawberries, marscapone, and a balsamic glaze. Seriously. HOLY COW.) Mitchell helped make the cake. It was adorable. Luckily I stressed enough that we DON’T TOUCH THE BEATER so he didn’t even reach for it. He did, however, drop a couple measuring spoons in there while “adding” ingredients. (I gave him a measuring spoon and fake put stuff in the spoon for him to add.) All in all, adorable.

You can’t tell, but he’s up on his little tippy toes on the chair in this picture trying to see inside the mixer.

20140312_162949

Everything was going great, and I had finished the cake batter and was buttering my pan, when I looked back and noticed Mitchell had grabbed a measuring spoon and dug right in to the batter. I can’t really criticize him, though, because I sure licked all the spoons/bowls.

20140312_16334020140312_163352

I tried getting a better picture of his face all covered in cake batter, but it didn’t work very well. But can you see all the cake batter on that spoon? Yeah, it was all gone in about two seconds flat. He had a very good time.

20140312_163713

And finally, in case you didn’t know, I take terrible selfies. I blame the selfie movement for my drop in self-confidence. But having a cute baby in the picture raises the value of the picture tenfold!

20140312_160359

By themagnificentms

Leave a Reply

