My, how things change.

Earlier this week, Justin and I celebrated St. Patrick’s Day at a parent/child workshop at the library. St. Patrick’s Day used to be such a holiday for me that this felt like a mighty change. Of course, being the sober one watching the drunk ones in Aggieville fit the parade felt very weird, too.

But I got another jolt of change today. 5 years ago, I polished off the entire Fablehaven series (young adult fantasy at its finest) during the first week of spring. I camped out on our (then) back patio every evening with a beer in hand and didn’t move until it was too dark to read. Today I decided the weather was perfect and I had a hankering to reread the series, so I camped out on our (now) back deck and cracked open the book. The beer was replaced by an iced tea and I was quickly joined by a sleeping baby, but other than that, it was dejavu. But just those three minor changes (location, beverage, baby) are enough for me to think just how much my life has evolved in the last five years. I think “evolve” is a better word than “change” for it. But the last few days have really driven home how great my life is right now and how much I have to be thankful for. Don’t get me wrong, Justin and I have worked/are working very hard to get where we are, but at this moment, I can’t help but feel like the luckiest gal in the world.
image

By themagnificentms

Leave a comment