Happy Easter!

I know, I know, a few days late, but better late than never, right?

Mitchell had a great Easter. Here at home, the Easter Bunny left him some sidewalk chalk, a book, some bubbles, and a couple balls (because that’s JUST what our house needed). At the family Easter, the Easter Bunny gave him a coloring book, some markers, and some crackers. She also very nicely put some candy in there for Mommy. And this was after Mitchell REFUSED to sit with her, even though she bore a striking resemblance to a cousin of his whom he very much likes.

I really didn’t expect much out of him for the Easter egg hunt, but he surprised me by really getting into it! So much so that he didn’t understand/accept when the hunt was over, so I started sneaking eggs out of his basket and tossing them a few feet away. The Easter Bunny hid several eggs in the grills of cars, so now Mitchell tries to go find an egg in every car grill he sees. I’m sure that’s a great habit. I don’t see it going badly at all.

The kids also get to hit a pinata every Easter. Except for Mitchell, who found the idea of hitting the bunny pinata absolutely appalling. So appalling, in fact, that he took the bat and ran when I tried to demonstrate how to hit the pinata. It’s one of my favorite pictures now, because I imagine that’s how Mitchell and I look in most of our day-to-day interactions.

He got lots of eggs, and when he woke up the next morning, he found his basket with eggs and started tossing them around the house, “finding” them, and putting them back in the basket. Inevitably, several broke open, but he just brought them to me to close again. I was cleaning the house, and I remember thinking, “Hmm, I wonder where the candy is?” but I just went back to cleaning. A little while later, I see Mitchell toss an egg, which cracked open. Laika immediately pounced on the tootsie roll and swallowed it whole, wrapper and all. She didn’t even chew. Sure enough, today when I scooped poo in the backyard, I came across a pile that had several candy wrappers in it. It seems she got hold of a few different kinds of candy before I realized what was happening.

And now, pictures!

4-20-2014 Easter 009 4-20-2014 Easter 011 DSC_0029 DSC_0040 DSC_0045 DSC_0069 DSC_0078 DSC_0109

By themagnificentms

Leave a Reply

