A boy. And a girl.

I can’t tell you how often strangers comment on my children when we’re out and about. I assume most mothers get comments, and most of the time I am thrilled to hear how adorable my children are, but sometimes, based on the comments I hear, I have to wonder what moms of two girls or two boys hear. Most of the comments I hear are about how perfect it is that I got “one of each” or “a matched set”. Don’t get me wrong, this is exactly how I wanted my family to look and I’m thrilled that it worked out this way, but I’m sure I’d be equally thrilled with two boys or two girls. After all, I know how sibling relationships work among sisters. I have no idea how it’ll work between these two. I can hope they’ll continue to love each other as much as they do right now. When Mitchell insists on photo bombing his little sister because he just wants to hug her THAT BADLY.

For instance. More Easter, anyone?

DSC_0004 DSC_0002 DSC_0010 DSC_0017 DSC_0027 DSC_0012 DSC_0015

Last night, Mitchell handed me my camera, went and sat in his picture chair (he thinks he needs to sit in his TMNT chair whenever he poses for a picture), and asked for Baby. I convinced him to sit on the couch and handed him Rosie. He mostly just sat there looking serious. I took several pictures and tried to take her back, since his face said “bored”, but apparently his face didn’t say “bored”, it said “responsible big brother taking care of little sister” because he got upset when I tried to take her. He sat there with her for quite a while before she finally got a little fussy. It’s amazing how I can look at these pictures and see their future selves, hanging out on the couch, watching movies or TV or something. Looking bored and yet mustering the energy to be annoyed at me for taking pictures, because they don’t think there’s anything special happening, no reason to capture this moment and save it. But these moments are terribly special, and someday when they’re grown, they’ll find a random snapshot of themselves lounging around, just being siblings, and just have to call each other up to say, “Ugh, remember how Mom always took these pictures? It was so annoying. So, how’s it going?” I’m sure they’ll discuss my latest annoying habit (laughing about it, because despite my quirks, they just LOVE THEIR MOTHER and my annoying habits are things like sending an awesome care package to their dorm room or calling them multiple times per day to plan their upcoming birthday party). Then they’ll move on to other things, things going on in their lives that don’t include me, like college parties or girlfriends or boyfriends and other things one can’t possibly discuss with one’s mother but need to be discussed with someone who knows, without you telling them, why exactly it’s important and what childhood dream has been fulfilled. Someone who has known you your entire life. Someone who can get mad at you, but has to come right back. After all, who else are they going to call because “Oh my God, you wouldn’t believe the lame joke Dad told me” or “Seriously, we have to go out to eat with Mom and Dad AGAIN? It’s so embarrassing, Mom trying to joke with the waiter and Dad very obviously calculating the tip right down to the penny! Gah!”

I am so happy that they have each other for this. I know exactly how important it is.

Sorry, I got a bit carried away there. Here’s Mr. Responsible Big Brother and Miss Adorable Baby Sister.

DSC_0043 DSC_0033 DSC_0030 DSC_0029

They already play so well together. Rosalynn isn’t exactly participating, but at least she makes a good car track…

DSC_0045 DSC_0046

By themagnificentms

Leave a Reply

