It pays to have cute kids!

The other night, Justin and I went to a place called Fricker’s. It was the weirdest combination of bar and family restaurant I’ve ever seen. It was actively trying to be both a bar and a place for kids. You know, a place you can go to have a few beers and nobody will judge you for telling the kids to go play and leave you alone. At least, that’s the impression I got from our fellow diners.

Anywho. Rosie sat in her car seat for quite a while playing, and Mitchell decided that he needed to sit on my lap. When Rosie decided she no longer wanted to play in her car seat, Mitchell saw no reason that he should have to vacate my lap. Quite a normal situation. I was joking with Justin about only needing to get a two-top when we go out to eat. As usual, Mitchell was being terribly adorable with Rosie. We were all laughing and having a good time when I noticed that the surrounding tables were watching us. A lot. Two of the tables were older couples and one was a couple about our age, and they were just staring. Neither of the kids were acting up or fussing, and the people were all smiling, so we continued on our merry way.

20150529_181236 20150529_181335

Eventually, Mitchell and I finished eating and went to see what this “back room” was all about that all the kids kept flocking toward. It turned out to be a version of skee ball and some claw machines, but we had fun anyway. One of the staring people followed us in and said she was going to be buying our meal that evening. I couldn’t believe it. I said no, of course, and she said that her and her husband had just had such a good time watching us and our kids and that our kids were so well-behaved that they just wanted to pay us back by getting our meal.

It was just so unexpected and nice! And it was the perfect pick-me-up. We had a bit of a rough week around here as Mitchell decided he was no longer potty-trained. I have my suspicions as to why, but the fact remains that we’ve had to start completely over. We’re still working on it. And I’m by no means saying that I’d convinced myself he was rotten or anything, but it was really nice being reminded that he IS a damn good kid when we go out. He sits there so nicely and talks to us or watches other people. He doesn’t yell, he doesn’t try to run around, he doesn’t even fuss usually. I’m so used to him being so great that sometimes I forget that other kids don’t have the patience that he does. Going to a place like Fricker’s will sure remind you of that, with or without the awesome person buying your dinner.

Of course, right after she said she wanted to buy our meal, Mitchell decided to “creatively win” as Justin called it.

wpid-20150529_184709.jpg

So anyway, thank you mystery person!

By themagnificentms

Leave a Reply

