Family Picture Day!

Today was Family Picture Day! Otherwise known as Day of Untold Horrors.

I’ve spent the last several days picking out/buying/making the perfect little outfits for the kids. This morning I was ready to go an hour early, just sitting around waiting for the perfect moment to load the kids up, mostly naked, into the car. Because Lord knows I’m not putting those adorable little outfits on them until zero hour. Seriously, Rosie was carried into the photography studio wearing nothing but bloomers. Which were on backward. Because Daddy put them on her.

Anywho, part of the reason I was ready to go so early was because Mitchell and I had been up since 5. Rosie joined us at about 6:30; turns out she can’t sleep through a full-on tantrum happening right beside her bassinet (I won’t say who was throwing the tantrum, but let’s just say I’m not a morning person). So, even though I booked the appointment for 12:30, a full hour before Mitchell’s usual nap time, today his nap time probably should have occurred at 11. He was fighting to stay awake at that point. It wasn’t good.

We got to the photography studio, and it was huge and filled with more toys than our house. Which is to say, a lot. You should’ve seen Mitchell’s eyes light up. And the backdrops! He thought they were just the coolest curtains begging to be swatted. And of course, when you’re trying to take pictures of a kid, you don’t want them to start a tantrum, because there goes any chance of a cute picture, even if they calm down again. So there was a lot of bribing happening today. Even so, after about ten minutes, Mitchell was done. DONE. There was way too much to see and explore. He took some ADORABLE pictures by himself, but pretty much refused to come back for the pictures with Rosie. When he did, he would take about one picture sitting up and then just start doing the worm across the floor. Not cute.

Oh, and it turns out Rosie is terrified of the photographer. She took a few pictures after I pointed out to him that she was afraid of him, but she still wouldn’t smile for him.

So, you know. Fail. But hey, at least I got a few cute pictures out of the deal!

IMG_1047 IMG_0931 IMG_0947 IMG_0955 IMG_0961 IMG_0978 IMG_0985 IMG_0994 IMG_1003 IMG_1007 IMG_1019 IMG_1020 IMG_1022 IMG_1024 IMG_1025 IMG_1032 IMG_1046

They’re all adorable. All of them. But I have to say, my absolute favorite picture of the day is this one:

IMG_1027

I laugh every single time I look at it. It pretty much sums up every sibling portrait session ever. One is fussy, the other is bored. I love it.

Oh, and it’s the only picture in which you can see both their shirts that I put HOURS into making. Because apparently you can’t buy a plain white t-shirt in 3T in Dayton. Seriously. I won’t tell you how many stores I searched to find one.

By themagnificentms

Leave a Reply

