A little heavy on the Roe

My blog posts have been taking quite a hit from our hectic non-stop days around here and I wanted to make sure Future Rosie reading this knows that, even though I’m not posting about each and every one of her accomplishments, I’m still noticing them.

It’s different with number 2. With Mitchell, I loved every time he did something new. I was so excited when he sat up. I was convinced that he was miles ahead of his milestones. With Rosie, I know she’ll get there and, in the long run, it doesn’t make a bit of difference if she crawled at 7 months or if she waited until 9 months. Her future entrance exams won’t ask when she first showed interest in knocking over block towers. She’ll get there.

What matters now is that she’s telling me to just love her. She’s a giant cuddle bug and demands lots and lots of attention. Luckily, she’s adorable, and when all else fails, I still have the ring sling. She crawls, she sits, she does everything she’s supposed to do developmentally, she just wants to spend the majority of her time crawling on Mommy or nuzzling into my neck. And I’m totally fine with that. Because, with number 2, I know that each new development takes her a little further from me. And I’m not ready for that yet.

Everyone seems to want to tell me to enjoy this time with her, because pretty soon she won’t want to be near me. Even strangers in the store tell me that, as soon as she hits her teenage years, she’s going to hate me. They talk about the inevitability of it. I’m sure they think they’re just making small talk, but they don’t understand that every time they say something like this, I shut myself in the room with Roe and just cuddle her and talk to her and whisper that that will NEVER happen to us, even though I know it probably will. But I’m going to do everything in my power to keep it from happening.

I don’t want to lose the ability to coax this adorable little smile out of her.

DSC_0021DSC_0034

I want her to always be so happy surprised to notice me.

DSC_0001DSC_0002DSC_0004

I don’t want to lose the “inside secret” with her (Big Brother will never know what we do when he’s asleep).

DSC_0019 DSC_0013 DSC_0012

I don’t want her to ever think she can’t reach for me when she’s a little scared.

DSC_0020

But I know she’s already looking forward to getting away from me and playing with the bigger kids.

DSC_0043

Mostly, I want my baby Rosalynn to always know that she’s so, so loved, by everyone around her. She can coax a laugh out of the sourest of people just by grinning at them. Even her grumpy growly face is adorable. She already shows a level of determination that scares me. She can run the world if she wants to. I just hope she comes home for some mama cuddles every once in a while.

By themagnificentms

Leave a Reply

