This is my life.

It’s Saturday, mid-morning. Other than a few treks to the kitchen for snacks, all four of us have been holed up in the warm master bedroom since we woke up, alternating between cuddling on the bed, jumping on the bed, and playing with the five thousand toys that always manage to get dragged down the hall into our room.

It is a perfect morning.

But I can’t shake this feeling of deja vu that has nothing to do with the fact that this is a fairly normal weekend morning for us.

Finally, I realize: this is exactly the life I’ve always envisioned. Sure, some of the details are different (the state, for example), and I’ve been concentrating on those details, thinking my life has wildly detoured from its intended course. But THIS, this lazy morning, this bed, this is the main event. Those other factors, while certainly relevant, are merely details.

I’ve always dreamed of my future. I had a very specific future in mind: a family that ENJOYED spending time together. Family dinners around the table, evenings spent reading countless books, and even lazy weekend mornings spent crowded onto the bed. And I have exactly that. It’s wonderful being me.

And, so this isn’t entirely a wasted post, here are some pictures.

Mitchell discovered that Kingsley can catch food mid-air, while Rosie discovered that Kingsley will eat from her fingers. I’ll be shocked if this dog gains less than 20 pounds this month.

image

Meet Rosie’s new friend, Yoda.

image

Mitchell doesn’t want to share his cars, and he figured out an ingenious solution to keep them from Rosie.

image

I don’t know what Rosie’s purpose is here, but it’s adorable.

image

By themagnificentms

Leave a Reply

